The 18 Disciplines

The eighteen disciplines are definitive for all Ninjutsu skills, having first come from the scrolls of Togakure-ryu
These eighteen disciplines are thought to give the student comprehensive training in the fighting arts and many other corresponding disciplines.

Often Bugei Juhappan (or the eighteen Samurai fighting art skills) are taught in conjunction with Ninja Juhakkei. Each of these techniques uses its own approach to the topics, although some of them are they same.

Below is a list of the 18 disciplines: Shinobi-iri (stealth and entering methods)

Taijutsu (unarmed combat)

Bojutsu (stick and staff fighting)

Shurikenjutsu (throwing blades)

Sojutsu (spear fighting)

Naginatajutsu (naginata fighting)

Ninja ken (sword fighting)

Kusarigamajutsu (chain and sickle weapon)

Kayakujutsu (fire and explosives)

Bajutsu (horsemanship)

Sui-ren (water training)

Seishin-teki kyoyo (spiritual refinement)

Boryaku (military strategy)

Chi-mon (geography)

Choho (espionage)

Intonjutsu (escaping and concealment)

Hensojutsu (disguise and impersonation)

Tenmon (meteorology)